STFM Antiracism Learning Collaborative Draws to a Close With Keynote Speaker, Project Presentations and Graduation

September 27, 2023—Dyads participating in the STFM Academic Family Medicine Antiracism Learning Collaborative completed their 21-month training and project implementation with a full-day session in St Louis on September 10. The September session included a keynote presentation by Bonzo Reddick, MD, poster presentations, Ignite presentations, and a graduation ceremony. 

The Academic Family Medicine Learning Collaborative is an IRB-approved study, designed and led by the STFM Antiracism Task Force, to measure the effectiveness of training and implementation of various projects and strategies to:

  • Empower and educate participants so they will identify racist structures and behaviors within their academic institutions and become leaders for change
  • Promote allyship
  • Spread effective change strategies

Between January 2022 and September 2023, dyads attended two full-day in-person sessions and five virtual sessions and worked on projects to reduce racism within their institutions. Each pair was assigned a mentor who provided guidance and expertise.

Dyads presented the impact of their individual projects at the September meeting. The impact of the Learning Collaborative is being evaluated by the Robert Graham Center, and results will be published and presented over the coming months.

This Antiracism Learning Collaborative is supported by a grant from Adtalem Global Education Foundation.

2023 Graduates

  • Angela Echiverri, MD, MPH, and Kaitlin HollandBerry, MD
    Contra Costa Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Bari Laskow, MD
    Family Medicine Residency of IdahoNampa
  • Theresa Nevarez, MD, MBA, and Fathima Sarah Nazarkhan, MD
    Harbor UCLA Family Medicine Residency
  • Nicholas Shungu, MD, MPH, and Sean Haley, MD, MPH
    Medical University of South Carolina
  • Tanya White-Davis, PsyD, and Ellen Tattelman, MD
    Montefiore Medical Center Residency Program in Family and Social Medicine
  • Sabrina Belle, MBBS, and Adora Otiji, MD
    Ross University School of Medicine
  • Rynita Bohler, MD
    The Christ Hospital/University of Cincinnati Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Krys Foster, MD, MPH, and Danielle Snyderman, MD, CMD
    Thomas Jefferson University Depart of Family and Community Medicine Residency Program
  • Emily Trambert-Kylstra, MD MPH, and Kimberley Nichols, MD
    UNC School of Medicine
  • Lisa M. Harris, DO, and Christina Kelly, MD
    Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
  • Charles Vega MD, and Ursula Worsham, PhD
    University of California, Irvine
  • Kirsten Day MD, and Randy Jackson Jr. MD
    University of California, San Francisco
  • Andria Matthews, MD, and Gian Grant-McGarvey
    University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • Alesia Jones, PhD, and Manorama Khare, PhD
    University of Illinois College of Medicine Rockford Family Medicine Residency Program
  • Colleen Loo-Gross, MD, MPH, and Samuel Ofei-Dodoo, PhD, MPA, MA, CPH
    University of Kansas School of MedicineWichita
  • Eduardo Medina MD, MPH, and Andrea Westby, MD
    University of Minnesota Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
  • Didi Ebert, DO, MPH, MS and Melva Landrum
    University of North Texas Health Science Center—Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Tiffany Ho, MD MPH, and Laura Elizabeth Moreno, MD
    University of Utah Department of Family & Preventive Medicine


STFM Antiracism Task Force

Chair: Tricia Elliott, MD       
Senior VP, Medical, Academic, and Research Affairs, Chief Academic Officer
John Peter Smith Hospital (Tarrant County Hospital District) Family Medicine Residency, Fort Worth, TX

Thomas W. Bishop, PsyD, MA
Assistant Professor, Assistant Residency Director
University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI

Echo Buffalo-Ellison, MD 
Medical University of South Carolina College of Medicine, Charleston, SC

Renee Crichlow, MD
Vice-Chair, Boston University Dept. Family Medicine
Boston University School of Medicine

Edgar Figueroa, MD, MPH
Director of Student Health
Weill Cornell Medical College of Cornell University, New York, NY

Victoria Gorski, MD
Associate Professor, Department of Family and Social Medicine
Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University, Bronx, NY

Cleveland Piggott, Jr, MD, MPH
Vice Chair for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for CU Family Medicine
University of Colorado (University Hospital), Denver, CO

Kristin Reavis, MD
Residency Director, Director of Student Diversity & Inclusion in the Office of Student Affairs
University of Maryland, Baltimore, MD

Mary Theobald, MBA
Chief of Strategy and Innovation
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, Leawood, KS

Emily Walters
Director of Education and Special Projects 
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, Leawood, KS

Julia Wang, MD (resident)
Swedish Cherry Hill Family Medicine Residency, Seattle WA

Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928