F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award

Established in 1990 in honor of Dr. F. Marian Bishop, the F. Marian Bishop Leadership Award is presented by the STFM Foundation to honor senior leaders who have significantly enhanced the credibility of family medicine by a sustained, long-term commitment to family medicine in academic settings.

The STFM Foundation Trustees screen the nominations and make the final selection. Nominators are asked to organize their supporting materials to underscore the candidate’s leadership and scholarly achievements in family medicine and contributions to STFM. Diversity, being a core value of STFM, should also be highlighted in the broadest sense, for example, but not be limited to, race, gender, ethnicity, work site, work role, geographic location and professional discipline.


If you have questions about this award, email Sandy VanTuyl

Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928





January 22-February 8: Time Frame to Submit Proposals for the CERA Clerkship Directors Survey

February 1: Deadline to Register for the Virtual 2021 Conference on Medical Student Education

February 1: Deadline to Apply for the STFM Medical Editing Fellowship

February 1: Deadline to Apply for the Education Column Co-Editor Position

February 8: Deadline to Submit Presentation Proposals for the Conference on Practice and Quality Improvement

February 10: Last day to Receive a $100 Discount on STFM Certificate Programs

February 15: Deadline to Submit Entries for the STFM Annual Poetry & Prose Contest