Key Initiatives

Guidelines for Protected Non-Clinical Time for Faculty in Residency Programs

An STFM task force, with support and representation from the Association of Departments of Family Medicine and the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors, is developing national guidelines that define the amount of time needed by faculty to meet the non-clinical requirements of residency programs. This is in response to a national trend toward maximizing clinical productivity of faculty, which reduces the amount of time available teach and to meet administrative responsibilities and accreditation requirements.

The task force is chaired by Simon Griesbach, MD, Assistant Director, Waukesha Family Medicine Residency, Waukesha, WI.

Specifically, the task force will:

  • Develop Joint Guidelines for Protected Non-Clinical Time for Faculty in Family Medicine Residency Programs
  • Make recommendations for dissemination of those guidelines
  • Publish the guidelines in a peer-reviewed publication
  • Publish the guidelines in publications targeted at hospital administration
  • Present or identify speakers to present the guidelines at conferences
  • Appeal to the ACGME for changes in its requirements

The Guidelines will be released in 2020.

Task Force Members:

Chair: Simon Griesbach, MD
Waukesha Family Medicine Residency, Waukesha, WI

Glenn Dregansky, DO
WMU Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine Family Medicine Residency, Battle Creek, MI

Winfred Frazier, MD, MPH
UTMB Health Family Medicine Residency Program, Galveston, TX 

Louanne Friend, PhD, MN, RN
College of Community Health Science/Institute for Rural Health Research, The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL

Sarah Holder DO
Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine, Atlantic City, NJ

Karyn Kolman, MD
University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson

Gregory Lewis, MD
California Hospital Medical Center Family Medicine Residency, Los Angeles, CA

Michelle Roett, MD, MPH
MedStar Georgetown University Hospital, Washington, DC

Kim Stutzman, MD, FAAFP
Family Medicine Residency of Idaho - Nampa

Mary Theobald, MBA
Society of Teachers of Family Medicine, Leawood, KS


Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928





January 22-February 8: Time Frame to Submit Proposals for the CERA Clerkship Directors Survey

February 1: Deadline to Register for the Virtual 2021 Conference on Medical Student Education

February 1: Deadline to Apply for the STFM Medical Editing Fellowship

February 1: Deadline to Apply for the Education Column Co-Editor Position

February 8: Deadline to Submit Presentation Proposals for the Conference on Practice and Quality Improvement

February 10: Last day to Receive a $100 Discount on STFM Certificate Programs

February 15: Deadline to Submit Entries for the STFM Annual Poetry & Prose Contest