New Task Force to Advocate for Protected Time for Teaching and Administration

Oct. 30, 2019 — Nine STFM members have been appointed to a new task force to develop national guidelines that define the amount of time needed by faculty to meet the non-clinical requirements of residency programs. This is in response to a national trend toward maximizing clinical productivity of faculty, which reduces the amount of time available teach and to meet administrative responsibilities and accreditation requirements. 

"We have experienced increasing clinical demands from our clinical practice leaders, accreditors, and payors, often at the expense of our responsibility to residents.," said Task Force Chair Simon Griesbach, MD. "It's critical to family medicine, and also to our current and future health care system as a whole, that we have adequate time to meet our administrative responsibilities and teach residents the skills they need to care for patients."

Specifically, the task force will:

  • Develop Joint Guidelines for Protected Non-Clinical Time for Faculty in Family Medicine Residency Programs
  • Make recommendations for dissemination of those guidelines
  • Publish the guidelines in a peer-reviewed publication
  • Publish the guidelines in publications targeted at health care systems leaders
  • Present or identify speakers to present the guidelines at conferences
  • Appeal to the ACGME for changes in its requirements

A Reactor Panel will provide feedback on the guidelines throughout the development process.


Task Force Members

Simon Griesbach, MD
Assistant Director, Waukesha Family Medicine Residency

Karyn Kolman, MD
Vice Chair for Education, University of Arizona COM – Tucson

Sarah Holder DO
Program Director, AtlantiCare Family Medicine Residency Program
FM Clerkship Director, Geisinger Commonwealth SOM

Glenn V. Dregansky, DO
Associate Program Director, WMU Homer Stryker MD School of Medicine FMR

Winfred Frazier, MD, MPH
Associate Program Director, University of Texas Medical Branch

Louanne Friend, PhD, MN, RN
Deputy Director for Operations, Institute for Rural Health Research, The University of Alabama

Gregory R. Lewis, MD
Program Director, California Hospital Medical Center FMR

Michelle Roett, MD, MPH, (ADFM Representative)
Professor and Chair, MedStar Georgetown University Hospital

Kim Stutzman, MD (AFMRD Representative)
Program Director, Family Medicine Residency of Idaho


Reactor Panel

Sally P. Weaver, PhD, MD
Director of Research, Waco FMR

Lisa Mims, MD, MSCR
Associate Program Director, Trident/MUSC FMR

Jay Brieler, MD
Program Director, SLU FMR

Jennifer Leiser MD
Family Medicine Division Chief, University of Utah SOM

Neena Thomas-Eapen, MD
Associate Professor of Family Medicine, University of Kentucky

Karl Dietrich, MD, MPH
Faculty Physician, Swedish First Hill FMR

Velyn Wu, MD
Associate Program Director, University of Florida FMR

Ben Davis, MD
Program Director - Interim, Swedish FMR

Christine Criscuolo Higgins, MD
Associate Director, CHRISTUS Santa Rosa FMR


Related News: Comment on ACGME Program Requirements

STFM encourages members to comment on proposed ACGME Common Program Requirements before November 13, 2019. 

The proposed requirements, based on recommendations and requests from STFM and other organizations, would allow ACGME specialty review committees to specify the amount of time core faculty must dedicate to residency programs, exclusive of patient care. The ability for review committees to specify this time was eliminated in the Common Program Requirements that went into effect July 1, 2019.

The proposed revision also includes changes to requirements for resident supervision.

Follow the instructions on the “review and comment” page of ACGME’s website to submit comments. 

Read More About the Proposed Changes

Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928