Leadership through Scholarship Fellowship


Kendall Campbell, MD Director of Leadership

Kendall M. Campbell, MD

University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB)

Kendall M. Campbell, MD is Professor and Chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Texas Medical Branch (UTMB), in Galveston, Texas. He is the Sealy Hutchings and Lucille Wright Hutchings Chair in Family Medicine.

Dr. Campbell came to UTMB from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University where he served as a tenured Associate Professor of Family Medicine, Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, and Director of the Research Group for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine. Previous academic appointments have been at the University of Florida (UF) and Florida State University (FSU). His clinical interests have been for underserved patients for which he has developed medication access initiatives, integrated pharmacy and social services with primary care and led community health education initiatives. While at FSU, he Co-founded and Co-Directed the Center for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine with Dr. José E. Rodríguez to study issues that impact recruitment and retention of faculty underrepresented in medicine.

Dr. Campbell is nationally recognized for his work in primary care and in support of underrepresented learners and faculty. He has received honors and awards for his service to the field of medicine including the Martin Luther King, Jr. Distinguished Service Award, the Exemplary Teacher Award, and the 2021 STFM President’s Award. He was a 2014-2016 Fellow of the National Academy of Medicine and is a member of the NAM Roundtable on Health Equity. He also completed the AAMC Leadership Education and Development (LEAD) certificate program.

Director of Mentorship

Judy Washington, MD

Overlook Family Medicine Residency Program

Dr. Washington is an associate director and Women's Health Coordinator for Overlook Family Medicine Residency Program and supervises residents in the Health Start OB Clinic. She also co-chairs the Clinical Competency Committee and the Research and Scholarly Activities Committees. She began her academic career as faculty at the East Tennessee State-James Quillen School of Medicine as an assistant professor and residency program faculty at the Chattanooga-Memorial Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program. She was an assistant professor at the UMDNJ-NJ Medical School (now Rutgers School of Health Science) Family Medicine Department, associate director of medical student education, and the family medicine clerkship director.


She was the chair of the STFM Underrepresented in Medicine (URM) Initiative for two years and is presently serving as president of the STFM Foundation and member of the Board of Directors.  She is working with the URM Faculty Mentoring Program and the URM Oversight Committee, which convened to guide the progress of the URM Initiative work.

Director of Writing

José Rodríguez, MD

University of Utah

José E. Rodríguez, MD, FAAFP, serves as Associate Vice President for Health Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI), is a professor in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine, and Associate Medical Director at the Redwood Health Center.

As AVP, Dr. Rodríguez has worked with teams across health sciences to increase the actions taken in EDI throughout University of Utah Health. Scholarship has taken a central role in his office, and multiple manuscripts have been published highlighting the excellent EDI work happening in the Health Sciences Campus. He has served on the diversity committee & recruitment committees focused on URM faculty and residents, and has presented at national conferences on this work and his research on diversity initiatives. 

Prior to his appointment at the University of Utah, Dr. Rodríguez served as the co-chair of the Council on Diversity and Inclusion and the co-director for the Center for Underrepresented Minorities in Academic Medicine at Florida State University College of Medicine. His academic achievements include publishing several articles on the importance of URMs in academic medicine.

Scholarly Writing Faculty

Stacy A. Ogbeide, PsyD

UT Health San Antonio

Dr. Ogbeide is a Board-Certified Clinical Health Psychologist and a Board-Certified Specialist in Obesity and Weight Management. Dr. Ogbeide is the Director of Behavioral Health Education in the FMR, the Primary Care Track Coordinator for the Clinical Psychology Internship, and an Associate Professor/Clinical in the Department of Family & Community Medicine at UT Health San Antonio. Dr. Ogbeide has a cross appointment in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. Most recently, Dr. Ogbeide serves as Assistant Dean for Faculty in the Office of Faculty within the Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio.


Dr. Ogbeide is nationally recognized for her work in Primary Care Behavioral Health integration and currently serves on the board of directors for Collaborative Family Healthcare Association. She also serves as a mentor in numerous faculty development programs through STFM, with a focus on faculty who are URM. She will also be the 2023 Program Chair for the Society for Health Psychology at the APA Annual Convention. Dr. Ogbeide teaches doctoral courses in behavioral medicine and primary care behavioral health at Our Lady of the Lake University and graduate-level courses at the University of Texas San Antonio. Dr. Ogbeide’s professional areas of interest include: The Primary Care Behavioral Health (PCBH) consultation model, behavioral medicine/health psychology, faculty development and mentorship for those who are URM within academic medicine, and primary care workforce development. Dr. Ogbeide’s work has been featured on Texas Public Radio, in the San Antonio Express-News, and in other news outlets.

Contact Us


11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway

Leawood, KS 66211

(800) 274-7928