Printed from:,Competencies,Milestones
EPAs, Competencies, Milestones

Entrustable Professional Activities for Family Medicine End of Residency Training

EPAs are broad categories of activities that define the essential professional work of a discipline. With regard to residency training, EPAs define the expectations for the education of family physicians. EPAs integrate all of the core competencies, subcompetencies, and their specific milestones.

ACGME Competencies

"The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education US’ graduate medical education programs foster resident physicians’ development of competencies in six domains and collect performance data that reliably and accurately depicts residents’ ability to care for patients and to work effectively in healthcare delivery systems."1

ACGME Family Medicine Subcompetencies

The subcompetencies and Milestones provide a framework for the assessment of the development of the resident physician in key dimensions of the elements of physician competency. 

ACGME Milestones

A milestone is a significant point in development. The ACGME Milestones are competency-based developmental outcomes (e.g., knowledge, skills, attitudes, and performance) that can be demonstrated progressively by residents and fellows from the beginning of their education through graduation to the unsupervised practice of their specialties.

Use STFM's Residency Accreditation Toolkit to learn how to meet ACGME requirements, assess resident performance, and implement competency-based education.

1. Swing SR. 2007. The ACGME outcomes project: Retrospective and prospective. Med Teach 29(7):648–654.

Copyright 2018 by Society of Teachers of Family Medicine