Printed from:
2018 STFM Student Scholars Announced

September 25, 2017—Sixteen medical students have been selected for the STFM Conference on Medical Student Education Student Scholarship Award. This award highlights students who have an interest in family medicine and have potential for an academic career.

The 2018 STFM Student Scholars are:

  • Erin Cathcart, Penn State College of Medicine
  • Paul Stadem, Mayo Clinic School of Medicine
  • Jessica D'Souza, Baylor College Department of FM
  • Emily Brown, Perelman School of Medicine at University of Pennsylvania
  • Rachel Lee, University of Minnesota
  • Caitlin Felder-Heim, University of Colorado Dept of FM
  • Madison Breeden, University of Kansas School of Med-Wichita
  • John Diehl, Emory School of Medicine
  • Stacy Bartlett, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
  • Elynn Smith, University of Utah Dept. of Family & Preventive Medicine
  • Antionette Moore, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Dontre Douse, Mercer Health University Medical Center
  • Howard Lanney, University of Rochester, NY
  • Ruth (Rory) Aufderheide, University of Arizona
  • Christina Holbrooks, University of South Carolina
  • Jamie Majdi, George Washington University (Target School)

The 16 scholars were chosen from a pool of applicants by the STFM Medical Student Education Committee. The scholars were nominated by their faculty member and submitted both a personal statement and an abstract for a poster presentation. They will present their poster and receive recognition at the 2018 STFM Conference on Medical Student Education, February 1-4, 2018 in Austin, TX.

Each scholar will receive a $1,000 ($500 from STFM and $500 from the scholar's family medicine department), an STFM membership, and a complimentary registration to attend the STFM Conference on Medical Student Education. The target school student—a student at a school without a family medicine department—will receive a $1,000, ($500 provided by STFM and an additional $500 which is provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP).

The Medical Student Education Committee would like to thank the 2017 Conference on Medical Student Education attendees who generously donated to the STFM Foundation to support this program and the AAFP for its support of the target school scholar.

For more information about the scholarship, visit the Student Scholars page.

Copyright 2018 by Society of Teachers of Family Medicine