Printed from:
20 Residents Receive the Faculty for Tomorrow Scholarship

January 11, 2017—The Society of Teachers of Family Medicine has awarded scholarships to help cover expenses for 20 residents to attend the Faculty for Tomorrow Workshop and the 2017 STFM Annual Spring Conference from May 5-9 in San Diego. The residents will also attend the Faculty for Tomorrow Career Opportunities Fair, where they can meet with representatives from medical schools and residency programs interested in hiring new faculty. 

Scholarship recipients were chosen based on essays they wrote about their interest in teaching family medicine. The recipients are:

  • Ifeoma Margaret Ama, MD, MPH, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston 
  • Lori Atkinson, MD, Thomas Jefferson University FMR, Philadelphia, PA 
  • Erin Capitena, MD, California Hospital Medical Center/University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA 
  • Isabel Chen, MD, MPH, Kaiser Permanente Los Angeles Medical Center FMR, Los Angeles, CA 
  • Catherine Coe, MD, University of North Carolina FMR, Chapel Hill, NC 
  • Anastasia Coutinho, MD, MHS, Santa Rosa FMR, Santa Rosa, CA 
  • Kristina Dakis, MD, University of Illinois at Chicago FMR, Chicago, IL 
  • Juan Mica Guzman, Jr, MD, Northwestern McGaw FMR at Lake Forest, Grayslake, IL 
  • Jillian Landeck, MD, United FMR, Saint Paul, MN 
  • Crystal Marquez, MD, Middlesex FMR, Middletown, CT 
  • Leigh Morrison, MD, University of Michigan FMR, Ann Arbor, MI 
  • Morgan Motia, MD, Brown University FMR, Pawtucket, RI 
  • Fareedat O. Oluyadi, MD, Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital FMR, New Brunswick, NJ 
  • Melissa Palma, MD, Greater Lawrence FMR, Lawrence, MA 
  • Brian J. Park, MD, MPH, Oregon Health & Science University FMR, Portland, OR 
  • Bhavika Patel, MD, Virtua FMR, Voorhees, NJ 
  • Candace Y. Pau, MD, Kaiser Napa-Solano FMR, Vallejo, CA 
  • Claire Thomson, MD, MPH, Brown FMR, Pawtucket, RI 
  • Amber Vester, DO, Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center, Covallis, OR 
  • Astrud Villareal, MD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas, TX

This was the second year of the scholarship program and 58 applications were submitted.

Faculty for Tomorrow is supported by the American Board of Family Medicine Foundation and the STFM Foundation.

Copyright 2018 by Society of Teachers of Family Medicine